Reference Point: a suggestion

I have recently discussed the use of Sola Scriptura as a reference point for ecumenical apologetics. I do not think that a narrow Biblicistic attitude is helpful in exploring the differences that still separate us. I also think that it is most unhelpful to accuse each other of all sorts of heresies and prophesy eternal calamities. So it falls to me to suggest another Reference Point.

So my suggestion as a Reference Point are the three commonly accepted symbols of the Faith:

  1. The Apostles’ Creed
  2. The Nicene Creed
  3. The Athanasian Creed

There are some issues (filique etc) but these are commonly accepted statements of faith that have a continuity of use.

What do you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Philosophy, Theology

Comments are closed.