Catholic Anglican vs Anglican Catholic

I came across this post on TEXANGLICAN:

Here is a very frank description by the author of himself:

I consider myself a Catholic Anglican. I am an Anglican by conviction, not a Roman who happens to be separated from the Holy See by an historical accident.

It strikes me that the author is not a Catholic Anglican but rather an Anglican Catholic. In the second sentence, the author states that his Catholicism is different to that of the Roman Catholic Church due to historical accident. Therefore, he is a Anglican Catholic: his Anglicanism describes his Catholicism and not vice versa!

This is a very serious philosophical question of self-identity: is Anglican the adjective or the noun?

Leave a comment

Filed under Theology

Comments are closed.